Skip to Main Content

Graphic Novels at HMCPL

A guide to help navigate our extensive graphic novel collection, broken down my genre and format.

The Ignatz Awards (1997 - Present)


The Ignatz Awards recognize outstanding achievements in comics and cartooning by small press creators or creator-owned projects published by larger publishers. They have been awarded each year at the Small Press Expo since 1997, only skipping a year in 2001 due to the show's cancelation after the September 11 attacks. The Ignatz Awards are named in honor of George Herriman and his strip Krazy Kat, which featured a brick-throwing mouse named Ignatz.

2023 Awards

Ducks: Two Years in the Oil Sands

Outstanding Graphic Novel Winner

Wash Day Diaries

Outstanding Story Winner - "Ride or Die"

Award Winners (Alphabetically)