Skip to Main Content

Award Winning Youth Books

An overview of award winning youth books and audio books in our collection for kids and teens, broken down by award.

Stonewall Book Awards (1971 - Present)

 The first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

♦Featuring Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's & Young Adult Literature Award, books are separated between children and young adult catagories♦

Children’s Literature Award Winners

Young Adult Literature Award