Skip to main content

Award Winning Youth Books: Newberry Medal

An overview of award winning youth books and audio books in our collection for kids and teens, broken down by award.

Award Winners (1980 - Present)

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

♦Winners from 1980 to present are listed in the top box, scroll down for winners 1979 to 1922♦

Award Winners (1922 - 1979)