Skip to main content

Award Winning Youth Books: Home

An overview of award winning youth books and audio books in our collection for kids and teens, broken down by award.

The Awards

This guide is currently a work in progress and constantly being added to, it will eventually contain all the awards listed below, so please check back often!

Jane Addams Award - The Jane Addams Children's Book Award is given annually to a children's book published the preceding year that advances the causes of peace and social equality.

Batchelder Award - The Batchelder Award is given to the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.

Pura Belpré Award - The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Amelia Bloomer Project - The Amelia Bloomer Project is an annual book list published by the Feminist Task Force of the American Library Association's Social Responsibilities Round Table for the purpose of honoring children's books with feminist themes.

Caldecott Medal - The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

Coretta Scott King Book Award - Named for Coretta Scott King, wife of Martin Luther King, Jr., this award recognizes outstanding African American authors and illustrators, and is awarded for books about the African-American experience that are written for a youth audience (high school or elementary).

(Theodore Seuss) Geisel Award - The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

William C. Morris Award - The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first given in 2009, honors a book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

Newberry Medal - The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Odyssey Award - This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

Michael L. Printz - The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year.

Schneider Family Book Award - The Schneider Family Book Award is an award given by the ALA and meant to recognize authors and illustrators who have created stories or illustrations featuring characters with special needs.

Sibert Medal - The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. of Jacksonville, Illinois.

Stonewall Book Award - The first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

Sydney Taylor Book Award - The Sydney Taylor Book Award is presented annually to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience. Presented by the Association of Jewish Libraries since 1968, the award encourages the publication and widespread use of quality Judaic literature.


Find out more about the awards, their governing bodies and how they are chosen here

2018 Winners

The Hate U Give

National Book Award Nominee, Odyssey Award, Coretta Scott King Honor for Author, William C. Morris Award

Piecing Me Together

Amelia Bloomer Top Ten Winner, Newberry Honor, Coretta Scott King Award for Narration.

Crown: Ode to the Fresh Cut

Caldecott Honor, Newberry Honor, Coretta Scott King Honor for Narration

The First Rule of Punk

Pura Belpre Honor for Narration, Amelia Bloomer Top Ten List

Saints, Misfits, Monsters, and Mayhem

Amelia Bloomer Top Ten List, Morris Award Nominee 

Grand Canyon

Caldecott Honor, Sibert Honor

Malala's Magic Pencil

Amelia Bloomer Top Ten List

Hand over Hand

Amelia Bloomer Top Ten List

Shark Lady

Amelia Bloomer Top Ten List

The Murderer's Ape

Batchelder Award

Lucky Broken Girl

Pura Belpre Award for Narration

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora

Pura Belpre Honor for Narration

La Princesa and the Pea

Pura Belpre Award for Illustration

Frida Kahlo and Her Animalitos

Pura Belpre Honor for Illustration 

All Around Us

Pura Belpre Honor for Illustration 

Wolf in the Snow

Caldecott Medal

Big Cat, Little Cat

Caldecott Honor

A Different Pond

Caldecott Honor

Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets

Coretta Scott King Honor for Illustration

Hello, Universe

Newberry Medal Winner

We Are Okay

Michael L. Printz Award

Silent Days, Silent Dreams

Schneider Family Book Award for Young Children 

Macy Mcmillan and the Rainbow Goddess

Schneider Family Book Award for Middle Grades

You're Welcome, Universe

Schneider Family Book Award for Teens

Guide Admin

Jon Schafle's picture
Jon Schafle
Huntsville Madison County Public Library - Downtown Branch