Skip to Main Content

The United States Government: The Congress: About the Congress

Overview of the two branches of the U.S. Congress, the Senate and the House of Representatives, including resources on the history of the legislative body.

The United States Congress

The United States Congress is the bicameral legislature of the federal government of the United States consisting of two chambers: the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Congress meets in the Capitol in Washington, D.C. Both senators and representatives are chosen through direct election, though vacancies in the Senate may be filled by a gubernatorial appointment. Members are usually affiliated to the Republican Party or to the Democratic Party, and only rarely to a third party or as independents. Congress has 535 voting members: 435 Representatives and 100 Senators.
Article One of the United States Constitution establishes the legislative branch of the federal government, the United States Congress. The Congress is a bicameral legislature consisting of a House of Representatives and a Senate.

C-SPAN Congressional Chronicle

A resource for House and Senate floor proceedings. Access the legislative schedule, a directory of committees and members, bills, votes and statistics about each session of Congress.; accessed June 23, 2023.


Profile Photo
Brian Bess
915 Monroe St.
Huntsville, AL 35801