Young Reader Library Cards

In response to recent requirements from the Alabama Public Library Service (APLS) and in order for HMCPL to receive annual state funding, we had to make changes in how we select and place materials in the young adult and juvenile sections of each branch. This also means HMCPL must make changes to our circulation policies and library card configurations.

Beginning March 3, 2025, all library cards issued to youth aged 17 and younger will require a parent or guardian to give guarantor authorization. 

Please read below for requirements for parents/guardians, and for an explanation of access levels. If a waiver for an existing young reader card is not signed by March 3, 2025, the access level of the account will default to Level 1. This level can be adjusted once a parent or guardian signs a waiver authorizing a change. 

From Young Reader Access Levels

(Effective March 3, 2025)

Young Readers: Issued to youth ages 17 and younger.

The parent or guardian must:

• Be a resident of Madison County or a Limestone County resident living within the city limits of Madison/Huntsville or have a Non-Resident Adult Library Card.

• Agree to take responsibility for all items borrowed by the child(ren).

• Provide identification with correct name and permanent address. A government-issued photo ID is required, such as a driver's license, passport or student school card. ID can be out of area driver's license combined with a lease, utilities bill, or imprint on a check or deposit slip.

• Have a signed Young Reader Card Waiver Form to establish the level of access for the young reader.

Parents or guardians can change the level of access for a Young Reader Card at any time by signing a new waiver. The available access levels are:

Young Readers Level 1 –

• Items in the Juvenile (JUV) section including fiction and nonfiction board books, picture books, chapter books, easy reader, audiobooks, music CDs, and videos with intended audiences ages birth to 12 years old.

• Video ratings: G, TV-Y, TV-Y7, & TV-G where youth are the intended audience

• Items in this tier will meet the Selection Criteria for Young Adult and Juvenile Collections in the Collection Development Policy.

• No digital access on this card. No laptop check-out. Requires guarantor.

Young Readers Level 2 – (includes access to Level 1 materials)

• Items in the Young Adult (YA) section including fiction and nonfiction books, audiobooks, and videos with intended audiences ages 13 to 17 years old. Parental guidance may be needed for some material.

• Video ratings: PG movies, PG-13 movies, TV-PG where youth are the intended audience

• Items in this tier will meet the Selection Criteria for Young Adult and Juvenile Collections in the Collection Development Policy.

• Includes access to Level 1 materials. No digital access on this card. No laptop check-out. Requires guarantor.

Young Readers Level 3 – (includes access to Level 1 & 2 materials)

• Items in the Adult section including fiction and nonfiction books, audiobooks, music CDs, and videos with intended audiences ages 18 years and older.

• Video ratings: PG, PG-13, and TV-PG where adults are the intended audience, R rated moves, TV-14, TV-MA

• Includes access to Level 1 & 2 materials and digital resources. No laptop check-out. Requires guarantor.

To select the level of access for your young reader, you will need the library card numbers for both yourself and your child. Then, please submit a Young Reader Card Waiver. The waiver must be submitted online, and you must be signed into your HMCPL account using your Library Card Number and PIN/Password.

Please note: While you can submit the Young Reader Card Waiver Form now, it will take effect March 3, 2025.

If you need help accessing your account, here is a guide to help you get started. You can also view this video.

We want to emphasize that the level of access remains entirely at the discretion of parents or guardians. You retain the right to decide which materials your child can or cannot access.