Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to HMCPL's Research Databases: Video Resources

An overview of the research databases available on the Huntsville-Madison County Public Library website.

Alabama Virtual Library Walkthrough

A brief tutorial on how to access the Alabama Virtual Library and how to do a basic search.

How to Use America's News

Learn how to navigate America's News in just :90 seconds.

How to Search for Historical Records on Ancestry.com

Learn how to search for your ancestors in the collections of historical records on Ancestry.com. Then start searching at http://www.ancestry.com/. Start Your Journey Today: http://www.ancestry.com/s89929/t38352... Subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsc0A...

About Ancestry: Bringing together science and self-discovery, Ancestry helps everyone, everywhere discover the story of what led to them. Our sophisticated engineering and technology harnesses family history and consumer genomics, combining billions of rich historical records and millions of family trees to over 10 million and counting to provide people with deeply meaningful insights about who they are and where they come from. We’ve pioneered and defined this category, developing new innovations and technologies that have reinvented how people make family history discoveries. And these discoveries can give everyone a greater sense of identity, relatedness, and their place in the world.

Connect with Ancestry: Visit Ancestry’s Official Site: https://www.ancestry.com/

Like Ancestry on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Ancestry/

Follow Ancestry on Twitter: https://twitter.com/Ancestry

Follow Ancestry on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ancestry

How to Search for Historical Records on Ancestry.com | Ancestry https://www.youtube.com/user/AncestryCom

How to Use the Overdrive and Libby Apps

Learn how to download, read and listen to ebooks and e-audiobooks on your computer or device.

How to Access Digital Magazines Using Overdrive/Libby

For years, our patrons have been able to access e-books and audiobooks using Overdrive or the Libby app. Now we offer digital magazines as well!

Encyclopedia of Alabama

The Encyclopedia of Alabama tells the story of Alabama through articles on the state's people, historic events, sports, industry, government, art, literature and agriculture.

Fold3: A Quick Tour

Fold3 aims to be the premiere online source for researching US military records. Launched in 2007 as Footnote.com, the site originally sought to publish a range of digitized original documents from the @US National Archives and other repositories. @Ancestry acquired Footnote in 2010 and narrowed the site’s focus to military records. Ancestry.com later renamed the site Fold3, a reference to the flag-folding ceremony in which the third fold is said to memorialize veterans. Key resources include Revolutionary War pension files (from NARA microfilm M804, which has the complete pension files); a growing collection of War of 1812 pension records (free to access without a subscription and digitized as part of the Preserve the Pensions Project); Civil War service records; some Civil War “Widows’ Pensions;” FBI Case Files; WWII “Old Man’s Draft” registration cards; and photos, Navy cruise books and casualty lists from more recent wars. Follow along with genealogy expert Sunny Morton on this quick tour around military records website Fold3.

How to use resereve materials online at HMCPL

Video shows how to place a hold online in addition to information about curbside service.

City of Huntsville Launches Huntsville Connect Mobile App for Service Requests

March 19, 2014 (Huntsville, AL) - Huntsville Mayor Tommy Battle announced the official launch of the city's new mobile app, Huntsville Connect. This free download allows citizens to report quality of life issues to the City of Huntsville from their iPhone or Android mobile devices. To use Huntsville Connect, residents with smart phones download the app, snap a photo of a problem and submit it to the City. The app uses GPS to identify the location, and the information is automatically routed to the appropriate City department for resolution. Citizens will be able to follow their issue from the time it is reported until it is resolved. Currently, there are 25 different service requests that can be submitted through the application, including complaints about potholes, graffiti, illegal dumping, junk cars, and traffic signal problems. Huntsville Connect is also supported by a widget on the City's web site, www.huntsvilleal.gov/huntsvilleconnect, making it easy for residents to report items online as well. "Huntsville Connect allows all of our citizens to be the eyes and ears of the City," said Mayor Battle. "It gives residents a convenient and efficient way to report issues on the go, beyond traditional office hours, and it enables the City to automatically and seamlessly respond. Problems can be reported quickly and accurately and the system follows the problem until it is addressed." In addition to submitting new reports, residents can also use the app to stay up-to-date with requests they have already submitted as well as other concerns reported in their communities. Once the request is submitted, users will receive a confirmation e-mail from a Huntsville Connect customer service representative with a tracking number. They will also receive a follow-up e-mail when the request has been closed. Citizens can also track the status of their requests at any time through the app or on the web at www.huntsvilleal.gov/huntsvilleconnect. Huntsville Connect is supported by SeeClickFix; the world's largest citizen-reporting platform.

How to Navigate the Alabama Virtual Library

A bit more in depth demonstration of search strategies. This one focuses on the Opposing Viewpoints database: how to send an article, how to cite, highlight, make notes, and more.

Northern New England Resources at American Ancestors

Live Broadcast: September 17, 2020 Presented by: David Allen Lambert and Melanie McComb In the 17th and early 18th centuries, Maine (then part of Massachusetts), New Hampshire, and Vermont were considered frontier lands for the early New England colonists. Whether you are researching these states during the colonial period or present day, there are certain record sets and go-to resources that you should be aware of. This session will review various study projects, databases, manuscript items, and other resources available through American Ancestors that can assist you in researching northern New England. A syllabus for this program can be purchased at:https://shop.americanancestors.org/products/webinar-syllabus-northern-new-england-resources-at-american-ancestors?pass-through=true

 

BookFlix - How to Use It

Kristi gives an overview of BookFlix and demonstrates some of it's features. BookFlix pairs video storybooks with related nonfiction eBooks, and is available for free to members of Westbank Libraries.

How to Use the Chilton Library

Although travel is difficult right now, it’s the perfect time to make sure your car is working right. This quick tutorial will introduce you to Chilton Library, an online resource that can help you tackle car maintenance and repairs.

For more information, visit our website: https://www.aclib.us/research/blog/ca...

Installing and using the Overdrive Libby App

Read eBooks and listen to eAudiobooks on your smartphone or tablet using the Libby app by Overdrive with Goulburn Mulwaree Library

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a website that hosts a community-curated list of open access journals, maintained by Infrastructure Services for Open Access (IS4OA).[1] The project defines open access journals as scientific and scholarly journals making all their content available for free, without delay or user-registration requirement, and meeting high quality standards, notably by exercising peer review or editorial quality control.[2] DOAJ defines those as open access journals where an open license is used so that any user is allowed immediate free access to the works published in the journal and is permitted to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of [the] articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.[2] The mission of DOAJ is to "increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals".[3]

From: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Directory_of_Open_Access_Journals

 

How toSearch for Grants Using Grants.gov

A quick overview showing how to search for grants within the grants.gov website.

GrantSpace/Candid Learning in a Nutshell

Do you need help answering your community’s nonprofit questions? Our Candid Learning site has resources to help! Join Candid’s own information experts, the Online Librarians, to learn how they leverage the Candid Learning website to respond to their most frequently asked questions. Access the handout at https://bit.ly/2ZlQG1P

Getting Started with Libby and Hoopla

Did you know your library card gives you free access to e-books, e-Audiobooks, streaming movies and music?! This tech tutorial can help you get started with Libby/Overdrive and Hoopla on your phone, tablet or computer.

Introduction to PBS LearningMedia

PBS LearningMedia is a FREE comprehensive media-on-demand digital content library that offers PreK-12 classrooms a flexible way to integrate media into daily instruction. In this live webinar, GPB Education training specialists introduce educators to PBS LearningMedia and highlight ways it can be used in the classroom during distance learning. Learn more at pbslearningmedia.org

Check out https://www.gpb.org/education for more classroom content