Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to HMCPL's Research Databases: Other databases

An overview of the research databases available on the Huntsville-Madison County Public Library website.

Alabama Mosaic

 

 

                                                                    

 

AlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, universities and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents as well as scholars throughout the world.  As a part of AlabamaMosaic, HMCPL is digitizing images from a collection of historic Huntsville photographs that are housed in the library's archives.

How to Access

America's News (NewsBank)

                                                                               

 

NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.

How to Access

Library card not required if viewing from within a library branch:

https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/?p=NewsBank

American Ancestors

                                                                         

 

The New England Historic Genealogical Society's online collection of over 2,200 family research databases which currently contain access to over 110 million names.

How to Access

Access from a library branch here: https://www.americanancestors.org/index.aspx

Ancestry Library Edition

                                                                      

This collection of more than 4,000 databases and two billion names is essential to having a broad genealogy collection. 

How to Access

At home access ended December 31, 2021.

Available without restrictions at one of HMCPL's branches.

https://www.ancestrylibrary.com/

Bookflix

                                                                                     

This Scholastic online literacy resource pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks to reinforce reading skills and introduce children to a world of knowledge and exploration.

How to Access

Available with no restrictions inside one of our branches. Patrons need to enter their library card number & pin to use the resource outside of the library.

https://bookflix.digital.scholastic.com/home?authCtx=U.600017188

Chilton Library

                                                                         

Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs.

Some of Chilton Library's more popular features include:

  • Maintenance and specification tables that provide the unique data you need for each specific vehicle.
  • Step-by-step service and repair procedures, and labor estimating tool to help you confidently determine your next move.
  • Vacuum diagrams to simplify troubleshooting.
  • Wiring diagrams to help explain system operation.
  • Close-up photographs and illustrations for visual support.
  • ASE test prep quizzes for the most popular certification exams
  • A print button which allows you to easily print out what is needed.

How to Access

Brought to you by the Alabama Public Library Service with federal funds issued by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS)

https://www.chiltonlibrary.com/lh

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)

                                                                              

Categorized, searchable links to free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.  DOAJ defines open access journals as journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access.

How to Access

http://www.doaj.org/

driving-tests.org

                                                                             

In partnership with Driving-Tests.org, HMCPL is providing a free, online resource with unlimited access to high quality online driver education resources covering Alabama law and regulations. The resource includes automobile permit practice tests, motorcycle practice tests, driver handbooks as well as other helpful information.

How to Access

Freely available at the link: https://hmcpl.driving-tests.org/alabama/

Encyclopedia of Alabama

                                                                               

Encyclopedia of Alabama history, culture, geography, and natural environment. Offers articles on Alabama’s famous people, historic events, sports, art, literature, industry, government, plant and animal life, agriculture, recreation, and more.

How to Access

http://www.encyclopediaofalabama.org

fold3

                                                                               

Search or browse nearly fifty million historical documents and photos, many of which have never been made available on the Internet before.

How to Access

Fold3 is available in our library branches without a library card. Access outside HMCPL locations requires logging in with your library card number.

https://www.fold3.com/?group=1

Grants.gov

                                                                  

Under the President's Management Agenda, the office was chartered to deliver a system that provides a centralized location for grant seekers to find and apply for federal funding opportunities.Today, the Grants.gov system houses information on over 1,000 grant programs and vets grant applications for 26 federal grant-making agencies.  Grants.gov is an E-Government initiative operating under the governance of the Office of Management and Budget. Access freely available from their website.

How to Access

Freely available at https://www.grants.gov/web/grants/home.html

Grantspace

                                                                            

GrantSpace, a service of the Foundation Center, offers information and resources that are specifically designed to meet the needs of grantseekers.

How to Access

Freely available at https://grantspace.org/

HMCPL Catalog

                                                                        

Access your library account, download items from the Digital Media Zone or check out our hot titles, newest books and best sellers at the library by browsing our online catalog.

How to Access

Access your account: hmcpl.org/myaccount

Browse as a guest: catalog.hmcpl.org

Valley Digital Library: https://vdl.overdrive.com/

 

HMCPL Newsletters

                                                                          

Are you looking for a few good books to read? Sign up for our e-newsletters and get great book suggestions by email. We'll deliver reading lists right to your inbox along with new gems, bestsellers, and related titles. You'll also be able to check immediately whether the items are available at your local Library or whether they've been checked out.

How to Access

HomeworkAlabama.org

                                                                            

Homework Alabama offers free homework help from subject specialists. Students can also visit Homework Alabama for free tutoring in Math,Science, Social Studies,English. Specialists will help students in Grades K3-12, College Intro, and Adult Learners. HomeworkAlabama is a statewide effort made possible by the State Library of Alabama (APLS) through local public libraries, with funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services through their Library Services and Technology Act grant program as well as state funds requested by Governor Riley and appropriated by the State Legislature specifically for this program.

How to Access

Available with no restrictions inside on of our branches. Patrons need to enter their library card number & pin to use the resource outside of the library.

https://aplsws1.apls.state.al.us/aplsnew/web/homework/

 

 

Hoopla

                                                                           

Hoopla is an all purpose media streaming platform. Titles include eBooks, comic books, audiobooks, music, television shows, and movies. 

Patrons can check out up to five (5) titles per month.

How to Access

Hoopla requires both a library card and email address. 

Need help with Hoopla visit Hoopla Support

Log on to Hoopla from desktop computer 

  1. Go to hoopladigital.com
  2. Click on the Getting Started Button
  3. Create and account using an email address & password
  4. Select Huntsville-Madison County Public Library from the list of available libraries, and enter your library card number/pin.

Log on to Hoopla from tablet or phone 

  1. Download the Hoopla app from your chosen app store (iOS, Android, Amazon)
  2. Click on the Sign Up link.
  3. Create and account using an email address & password
  4. Selection Huntsville-Madison County Public Library, and enter your library card number/pin.

Notes on Compatibility

Hoopla does not support the Internet Explorer browser. 

Huntsville Connect

                                                                      

Report a problem or submit a non-emergency service request to the City of Huntsville using Huntsville Connect from the convenience of your mobile phone or computer.

Report issues such as graffiti, illegal dumping or potholes, broken parking meters, or even a found pet.

How to Access

Available to all users at Huntsville Connect Service Request.

Instructions

To report an issue: Choose a service request Category from the drop-down menu that best matches your issue. Type in the address/location of the service request or drag the map marker to the location of your issue Click Confirm Location. Attach an Image if possible and click Next step. Add a detailed description and Confirm Details. Choose Submit as yourself, Hide your identity or Submit as a guest. Submit your report.

Huntsville History Collection

                                                                             

HHC (huntsvillehistorycollection.org) is a virtual archive of resources about the history and historic architecture of Huntsville and Madison County, Alabama. The collection brings together photographs, illustrations, surveys, and history about homes, locations, and people.

How to Access

huntsvillehistorycollection.org

Kanopy

                                                                            

Kanopy is a video streaming platform with thousands of films, documentaries, and TV series for all ages. Patrons can check out up to five (5) titles per month with an additional allowance for two (2) Great Courses and unlimited access to Kanopy Kids.

How to Access

Kanopy requires both a library card number, PIN, and email address

Need help with Kanopy? Visit Kanopy Support

Creating a Kanopy Account

Supported Desktop Browsers and Systems

Kanopy Mobile Apps

Kanopy TV Apps

LearningExpress Library

                                                                             

Learning Express Library - Whatever your goal, Learning Express Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of the Learning Centers offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.  To have complete access, set up an account with Learning Express on their main page while at any library location.  This resource is provided by the Alabama Public Library Service.

How to Access

Libguides

                                                                

Explore our wealth of guides below to find new ways to browse our online catalog, research topics, choose your next favorite book and more!

How to Access

MyHeritage Online Genealogy

                                                                     

 

Explore MyHeritage Library Edition

https://records.myheritagelibraryedition.com/research

 

NoveList Plus

                                                                       

 

 

Looking for more books like your favorites?  Want to find a new author?  Can’t remember all the titles in a series?  NoveList Plus has the answers.  This great database contains fiction and nonfiction titles for all ages from youngest readers to adults.  Find reading recommendations and read-alikes connected to every single title, author, and series record.

 

How to Access

NoveList Plus is available in our library branches without a library card. Access outside HMCPL locations requires logging in with your library card number.

https://web.p.ebscohost.com/novp/search/novbasic?vid=0&sid=cf5d0d4e-2653-4bcf-b3ed-eea82f048cdc%40redis

 

HMCPL Obituary Index

                                   

  

 

 

                                                                                

 

 

 

 

Whether searching for a loved one or doing genealogy research, looking into local history or shoring up family records, obituaries are invaluable resources to have available. They are records of personal history, often containing information and tidbits that cannot be found in official government records. Obituaries provide windows into the lives of real people, and many times add context to family narratives.

Search by name of the deceased, cemetery, or newspaper the obituary was originally placed in.

How to Access

Available with no restrictions inside on of our branches. Visit obits.hmcpl.org to access.

 

                                 

Reference Solutions by Data Axle

                          

 

                                                              

The premier source of information for reference and research.

Offers accurate data on 70M businesses and 295M consumers.

Select a database to get started.

U.S. Businesses

70 Million Businesses

3.8 Million Closed Businesses

 

U.S. Standard White Pages

164 Million Residents

 

U.S. Jobs/Internships

2.5 Million Job Postings

 

U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles

295 Million Individuals

http://referenceusa.com/Home/Home

 

The Huntsville Times Digital Archive by NewsBank

                                          

 

Explore local history with our new full-color digital archive of The Huntsville Times! You can search this archive in the library or remotely through the library website. This new digital archive covers three areas:

- Text articles from 1991 to today
- Full image scans of newspapers from January 1, 2019 to today
- AL.com articles from 2012 to today

This collection will grow going forward. Archival issues prior to 2019 are also available on microfilm. Please see a librarian for assistance.

How to Access

Library card not required if viewing from within a library branch:

https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/user/librarycard/HuntsvilleMPublicLibrary?destination=browse-multi%3Fp%3DNewsBank%26t%3Dfavorite%253AHTWEHHUT!Huntsville%2BTimes%2BCollection

 

UniversalClass

                                                            

Learn something new today! UniversalClass offers over 500 online continuing education courses with 24/7 access, feedback from certified instructors, self-paced classes, and Continuing Education Units on select courses. Available subjects include: business, career training, computer training, crafts and hobbies, finance, writing and math skills.

https://www.universalclass.com/huntsvillemadison

 

Valley Digital Library/Libby

                            

Thousands of free ebooks and audiobooks to choose from. Checkout 5 at a time for up to a two week checkout using your Kindle, iPad, iPod, Nook, Sony Reader, and many more devices. New titles added several times a month in partnership with 3 other north Alabama library systems.

How to Access

WorldCat