Gale Virtual Reference Library @ HMCPL
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7 with your library card. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Britannica Online School Edition gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. Offers student-friendly website recommendations, current magazine and journal articles, the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate and Student Dictionaries and Thesauri (with audio pronunciations), a world atlas, plus online learning materials that are developed by teachers and curriculum experts. Contains encyclopedia articles and Learning Materials correlated to the Alabama State Standards!
Brought to you by USA.gov, Kids.gov is the official kids' portal for the U.S. government. It links kids to U.S. government information and services on the web from government agencies, schools, and educational organizations. Kids.gov is organized into three audiences: Grades K-5, Grades 6-8, and Educators. Each audience tab is divided into educational subjects like Arts, Math, and History. Within each subject, the websites are grouped as either government sites (Federal, state, military) or other resources (commercial, non-profit, educational).
The Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research. If you enjoy the benefits that AVL brings to your school, college, library or home, please take a few minutes to thank your local legislators for providing this resource for the State of Alabama
EBSCOhost databases provided by the Alabama Virtual Library offer information covering numerous subject disciplines. Highlighted below are databases that cover history, literature and culture of African Americans.
