Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Madison County Reads 2016: Flavia de Luce Mysteries: Home

Learn about programs & events for Huntsville-Madison County Public Library's community reading program, Madison County Reads. The events take place in March and focus on Alan Bradley's Flavia de Luce Mystery series.

Contact MCR

Email us at


Madison County Reads is a community program sponsored by the Huntsville-Madison Public Library that encourages everyone in the county to read the same book or the works of a single author. The library has been hosting this month-long program every spring since 2002.

Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley is the focus of this year's Madison County Reads. We also encourage you to explore all 7 books in this series! To enhance the reading experience, the library will be offering various speaker events, hands-on programs, crafts, science clubs, story times, and special events. There will be opportunities at all the branches across the county, and all of these will relate to references and themes from the Flavia de Luce mystery series.

This year, we also have a systemwide Mystery game running the entire month of March. We invite you to read and play along with your library.

The Flavia de Luce series by Alan Bradley



Huntsville-Madison County Public Library invites you to read along with us for the month of March. Start at the beginning, pick up where you left off in the series, or reread, we welcome the chance to share this year's selection with you! Find a copy of a book today by clicking on one of the covers above.

About the Author:

Alan Bradley was born in Toronto, Ontario, Canada in 1938. After obtaining his degree in electrical engineering, Bradley worked in radio and television before settling at the University of Saskatchewan as Director of Television Engineering for 25 years. In 1994, he retired early to become a full-time writer. While he has published and won an award for his children's fiction published in Canada, Bradley is best known for his Flavia de Luce mystery series.

In 2007, Bradley, encouraged by his wife, submitted a 15 page first chapter and synopsis to the Debut Dagger fiction competition and won. Publishers quickly bought rights to his proposed novel, and Bradley turned this into The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. The book went on to win multiple awards: the 2009 Agatha Award for Best first novel, the 2010 Dilys award, the 2010 Arthur Ellis Award, and the Spotted Owl Award. It has also been nominated for the Anthony, Barry, Macavity awards.

About the Books:

There are currently 7 books in the Flavia de Luce series (pictured above) and one novella (The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse).   Beginning in the summer of 1950, the series follows 11 year Flavia, a precocious budding chemist with a particular interest in poison. She lives in the English countryside in a fading manor house name Buckshaw. She spends much of her time fighting with her older sisters Ophelia and Daphne and riding around on her beloved bicycle, Gladys.

In Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, after a dead raven with a postage stamp is found on their doorstep, Flavia discovers a dying man in the vegetable patch.  Not put off at all by tripping over a murder victim, cheeky and intelligent Flavia is instantly intrigued and sets out to solve the mystery. A solution that becomes even more imperative when her father appears to be the prime suspect!

The 8th book, Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd is scheduled for release on January 5th, 2017.