Skip to main content

The United States Government: The Supreme Court: Supremecourt.gov

Overview of the Supreme Court, its function, history, print and online resources.

About the Supreme Court

About the Supreme Court

Members:

Chief Justice of the United States JOHN G. ROBERTS, JR.

ANTHONY M. KENNEDY

CLARENCE THOMAS

RUTH BADER GINSBURG

STEPHEN G. BREYER

SAMUEL A. ALITO, JR.

SONIA SOTOMAYOR

ELENA KAGAN



Retired Justices SANDRA DAY O’CONNOR

DAVID H. SOUTER

JOHN PAUL STEVENS



The Supreme Court consists of the Chief Justice of the United States and such number of Associate Justices as may be fixed by Congress. The number of Associate Justices is currently fixed at eight (28 U.S.C. §1). Power to nominate the Justices is vested in the President of the United States and appointments are made with the advice and consent of the Senate. Article III, §1, of the Constitution further provides that "[t]he Judges, both of the supreme and inferior Courts, shall hold their Offices during good Behavior, and shall, at stated Times, receive for their Services, a Compensation, which shall not be diminished during their Continuance in Office."

Opinions

The Opinions page is searchable by current term year or previous term years--2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011. Each term year is searchable by term opinions , term opinions relating to orders (dissents from denial, etc.) and term in-chambers opinions (stay applications, etc.).
 
The Opinions page is also searchable within the following categories:
 
  • Sliplists
  • Counsel Listings
  • Internet Sources Cited in Opinions
  • Bound Volumes
  • Video Resources
  • Information about Opinions
  • Where to Obtain Supreme Court Opinions
  • Dates of Early Supreme Court Opinions
  • Dates of Early Supreme Court Arguments
  • Case Citation Finder

Oral Arguments

The Oral Arguments page is divided into the following sections, with searchable fields within each section:
 
General Information
  • Granted/Noted Cases List (October Term 2016, 2015, 2014, etc.)
  • Where to Find Briefs
  • Visitor's Guide to Oral Argument
  • Bar Members
  • Courtroom Seating
  • Availability of Oral Argument Transcripts
  • Accessing Questions Presented in Granted and Noted Lists

Argument Sessions

  • Supreme Court Calendars
  • Argument Calendars
  • Day Calls
  • Hearing Lists
  • Online MERITS BRIEFS
  • Argument Transcripts
  • Argument Audio

For Counsel

  • Guide for Counsel in Case to be Argued
  • Argument Form (PDF)
  • Electronic Merits Brief Submission Guidelines (PDF)
  • Delivery of Documents to the Clerk's Office

 

Case Documents

The Case Documents page is searchable within the following categories:
 
  • Docket Search
  • On-Line MERITS BRIEFS
  • Where to Find Briefs
  • Orders of the Court - Current Term
  • Orders - Earlier Term
  • Orders by Circuit
  • Granted/Noted Cases List
  • Journal
  • Special Master Reports

 

Rules and Guidance

The Rules and Guidance page is searchable within the following categories:
 
  • Guides for Council
    • Guide for Filing Paid Cases (PDF)
    • Paid Cases Brief Chart (July 1, 2013)
    • Guide for Counsel in Cases to be Argued (PDF)
    • Electronic Merits Brief Submission Guidelines (PDF)
    • Delivery of Documents to the Clerk's Office
  • Supreme Court Bar
    • Bar Admissions Instructions (PDF)
    • Bar Admissions Forms (PDF)
    • Small Group Admissions - Argument Days (PDF)
    • Large Group Admissions - Nonargument Days (PDF)
  • Case Distribution Schedule
  • Waiver Form (PDF)
  • Circuit Assignments of Justices
    • Circuit Map (PDF)

 

News Media

The News Media page is searchable within the following categories:
 
  • Press Releases
  • Media Advisories
  • Speeches
  • Press Credentials
  • A Reporter's Guide to Applications (PDF)
  • Chief Justice's Year-End Reports on the Federal Judiciary

 

About the Court

The About the Court page is searchable within the following categories:
 
Justices
  • Current Members of the Supreme Court
  • Circuit Assignments of Justices
  • Members of the Supreme Court (1789 to Present)
  • The Justices' Caseload
  • Frequently Asked Questions About Justices

The Supreme Court at Work

  • A Brief Overview of the Supreme Court
  • The Court and Constitutional Interpretations
  • The Court and its Procedures
  • Visitor's Guide to Oral Argument

History and Traditions

  • The Court as an Institution
  • The Court and its Traditions
  • Historic Collections

The Supreme Court Building

  • The Supreme Court Building
  • Photographs of the Supreme Court Building
  • Architectural Information

Visiting the Court

  • Plan Your Visit
  • Visitor's Guide to Oral Argument
  • Touring the Building
  • Map (PDF)
  • Foreign Translations