Skip to main content

The United States Government: The Supreme Court: Online Resources Available Through HMCPL

Overview of the Supreme Court, its function, history, print and online resources.

Alabama Virtual Library Useful Databases

The following are selected databases and e-books that contain resources relevant to anyone seeking more information on the United States Supreme Court or the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.

 

History Reference Center


History Reference Center, published by EBSCO, contains 

  • full text for more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books
  • full text for nearly 60 leading history periodicals; 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

Under 'Browse Subject', the U.S. History link includes many articles that cite Supreme Court cases as well as political and social movements, often heavily influenced or initiated by Supreme Court decisions. These collections of articles include:

  • The Road to the American Revolution (1770-1783)
  • Expansion & Manifest Destiny (1784-1860)
  • Civil War & Reconstruction (1861-1877)
  • Rise of the Industrial U.S. (1878-1913)
  • World War I (1914-1919)
  • Prosperity, Depression & the New Deal (1920-1940)
  • World War II (1941-1945)
  • The Cold War & Societal Change (1945-2000)
  • New Century, New Challenges (2000-present)

Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Gale Virtual Reference Library is comprised encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including very detailed entries. The History Collection includes useful resources for researching the Supreme Court including:

American Decades - A Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).

Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America, 2nd Edition, 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning.

Profiles major U.S. Supreme Court decisions that have made a significant impact on American society. Each volume is organized by broad legal principles such as individual liberties, criminal justice and family law, equal protection and civil rights, and business and government law. Within this framework, case entries are arranged under the more specific legal issue to which they relate, such as affirmative action, capital punishment, freedom of speech, and monopolies.

Britannica E-Books (under High School resources)

Duignan, Brian. ed, The U.S. Constitution and Constitutional Law. Chicago: Britannica Educational Publishing, 2013. EPUB. http://eb.pdn.ipublishcentral.com/product/us-constitution-constitutional-law.
 

Although one of the shortest written constitutions in the world, the U.S. Constitution, designed to embody the rights, laws, and guiding principles of a diverse and ever-changing populace, remains an enduring document. Since its ratification in 1787, the Constitution has been applied to a broad range of legal and political questions and, while often the subject of much debate, continues to serve as a stalwart reminder of the country’s social and legal strides. This detailed volume breaks down each section of the Constitution and its amendments, also providing a concise overview of the field of constitutional law as it is applied around the world and in various forms of government.

 

 


Homework Alabama

To get to Homework Help through the Huntsville-Madison County Public Library's website, visit http://www.hmcpl.org.

Under the 'Research' tab, click on 'Online Resources'. Under 'Resource Collections' select the A-Z search option. From here select H'. On the sceen that appears, scroll down to the 'Homework Alabama' and click on the link.

OR

When you get to the 'Online Resources' page, under 'Resource Collections' under the 'Subject' tab, select 'Homework Help'. An alphabetical list of homework resources appears. Scroll down to 'Homework Alabama' and click on the link.

You will be taken to a Homework Alabama page containing information about Homework Alabama. Look for the sentence, '

Alabama residents only (http://homeworkalabama.org). Click on the link.