Skip to main content

Genealogy, History and Archives at Huntsville-Madison County Public Library: Video Links

A virtual tour of the genealogical, historical and archival resources available in the Special Collections area of Huntsville-Madison County Public Library

Family Tree Databases

Family Tree Databases - Family History: Genealogy Made Easy Episode 01 - Lisa Louise Cooke's Genealogy Gems

Using Ancestry.com Like a Pro

Whether you've been doing genealogy research for 20 minutes or 20 years, there are always new things to learn. Join Crista Cowan for a sneak peek into how she sets up her computer, manages her research, and records her findings. You might just pick up a tip or two that will help you use Ancestry.com like a professional.

How to Find Pre-1850 Ancestors

Join Ancestry's own barefoot genealogist, Crista Cowan, as she shows you the answer to this week's question: How do I find my ancestors before 1850?

Search Ancestry.com Like a Detective

Is it really as easy as they make it look on TV? Whether you are looking for an unknown parent or grandparent or trying to connect with living siblings or cousins, a little bit of know how goes a long way. Inspired by "CSI: Crime Scene Investigation," Crista Cowan shares her favorite tips and tricks for navigating modern day vital records, digging into the Public Records Index, and uncovering those family connections. When we're finished, you'll feel like you are starring in your very own episode of your favorite who-dun-it.

How to Search for Historical Records on Ancestry.com

Learn how to search for your ancestors in the collections of historical records on Ancestry.com. Then start searching at http://www.ancestry.com/.

How to Find Marriage Records on Ancestry.com

Want to know what marriage records are on Ancestry.com? Want to know how best to search them to find your ancestors? Join Crista Cowan for the first in a 4-part series on marriage records. She will help you discover what marriage records exist and which of those are available on Ancestry.com. She'll also share her best search tips and tricks to help you find the marriage records of your family members.

Digital Archives

Jerry Handfield, State Archivist of the Washington State Archives, discusses the importance of digital archives.

The Digital Public Library of America: An Introduction

he Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science. Since launching in April 2013, it has aggregated millions of items from thousands of institutions. The DPLA is a registered 501(c)(3) non-profit. You can find out more at http://dp.la/.

This video was originally aired at the first annual DPLAfest, which took place on October 24-25, 2013 in Boston, MA. You can find more video and media from the first DPLAfest at http://dp.la/info/get-involved/events...

The Digital Public Library of America and the Digital Future

The Neukom Institute for Computational Science at Dartmouth College presents the inaugural Donoho Colloquium, "The Digital Public Library of America and the Digital Future," with Robert Darnton, PhD, University Librarian, Harvard University

HathiTrust Digital Library

The HathiTrust Digital Library, a collection of digitized works, was created by a collaboration of over 60 partner libraries. HathiTrust preserves content as well as provides access to public domain works to participating institutions. For more information about HathiTrust Digital Library, visit http://www.hathitrust.org.

The HathiTrust Digital Library: Reading and Downloading Titles

This tutorial will explore some of the ways that you can read HathiTrust materials online, and walk you through downloading either a specific page from a source or the entire volume.

Subject Guide

Brian Bess's picture
Brian Bess
Contact:
915 Monroe St.
Huntsville, AL 35801