Skip to main content

Genealogy, History and Archives at Huntsville-Madison County Public Library: Local and State History

A virtual tour of the genealogical, historical and archival resources available in the Special Collections area of Huntsville-Madison County Public Library

Madison County Records Center

The Madison County Records Center (MCRC) was established in the Huntsville – Madison County Public Library building and staffed by Probate Court personnel in 2001.  This was accomplished under the authority of Probate Tommy Ragland in order to more fully comply with Section 36 of the Code of Alabama (1975) and to better adhere to the guidelines of the Alabama Department of Archives and History – Records Disposition Authority, preserving official records that construct the history of  Madison County.

The specific mission of the MCRC is to preserve the non-current official documents of the Madison County court system and to provide public access to history of the county, as contained therein.

The Madison County Records Center has an office on the third floor of the Main Branch of Huntsville-Madison County Public Library.

 

For more information please visit the website: http://mcrc.madisoncountyal.gov/mcrc/

 

Local History Resources

Print Collection

Huntsville-Madison County Public Library Special Collections houses a very extensive print collection. Aside from how-to genealogy volumes, we also have past Huntsville phone directories and city directories dating back to 1859, general historical volumes as well as state histories, including vital statistics, family histories and census collections.

Microfilm Collection

Our microfilm collection includes not only The Huntsville Times, from its beginning in 1910 through most of 2017 but other Huntsville newspapers such as The Huntsville News and the early publications such as The Huntsville Democrat, The Southern Democrat, The Mercury and others. We also have selected issues from elsewhere in the state as well as a portion of The New York Times, including the complete New York Times published during the Civil War.

City of Huntsville Historic Markers Index

Image result for city of huntsville historic markers index

The City of Huntsville provides a Historic Markers Index that includes interactive maps, a GIS section for finding geographic locations of various sites and locations and the historic markers index, with alphabetical search categories that provide links including a photograph of a marker, a map with its geographic location and verbiage describing what happened on the site and why it is historically significant.

http://www.huntsvilleal.gov/gis/HistoricMarkers/site/index.htm

Madison County Tax Assessor

The Madison County Tax Assessor has an office on the third floor of the Main Branch of the Huntsville-Madison County Public Library. The office includes many plat records, tax assessment books from 1857-1970, subdivision lot books for Madison County properties and much more.

View Tax Assessor Data & Maps Online: http://www.deltacomputersystems.com/AL/AL47/index_assessor.html