Skip to main content

Business Research: Startup Resources: Business News

a guide to library resources and online tools for writing a business plan and preparing a business startup

Full-Text Articles in Online Databases

The Alabama Virtual Library includes four business databases with full-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles on business and industry news, research, and data. Links to online tutorials for using these databases are in the box below.

If you are accessing the AVL in the state of Alabama, the geolocation feature should authenticate you and allow access to the databases. If you have trouble accessing AVL, visit an Alabama public library and ask for a username and password.

 

   Business Insights: Essentials - Recently upgraded for the AVL, it provides detailed company and industry news. Business articles, company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies. Includes Datamonitor Industry Profiles. Gale provides a 3 minute online tutorial for conducting an article search.

 

Business Index ASAP

Business Index - articles and images from academic and business journals.

 

 AVL Business Database

Business Source Premier - articles from nearly 7,600 periodicals. Includes Datamonitor Company Profiles. EBSCO provides a 4 minute online tutorial on searching this database.

 

AVL Business Database

Regional Business News - full-text coverage of 75 regional business publications. A good source for information about smaller companies.

Online Tutorials for Business Databases

Below are user instruction flash videos provided by the database vendors.

Main Library Newspapers & Magazines

Current issues of the below business newspapers, magazines, and journals can be found in the Reference Department on the second floor of the Main Library, 915 Monroe Street.

Barron’s (newspaper)

Black EnterpriseJuly, 2007, cover of Inc. magazine

Bloomberg Businessweek

Business Alabama

Chronicle of Philanthropy (newspaper)

Entrepreneur

Forbes

ForbesLife

Fortune

Franchising World

Harvard Business Review

Home Business (new subscription for 2012)

Inc.

Industry Week

Investor’s Business Daily (newspaper)

MoneyNovember, 2011, cover of Money magazine

Morningstar

Non-Profit Times (newspaper)

Smart Money

Survey of Current Business

Value Line (Investment Survey)

Value Line (Small & Mid-Cap Survey)

Wall Street Journal (newspaper)

Working Mother